Masters of the Bench                                   

Elections for Masters of the Bench (also known as ‘Benchers’) are held during Trinity and Michaelmas term each year. You can find details regarding the election procedure in part 1, section 4 of the Inn’s rules. Recent elections are also published in News

Trinity 2019 election

  • His Honour Stuart Sleeman
  • Anthony Haller
  • James Hines QC
  • Her Honour Judge Caroline Wright
  • Chris Henley QC
  • Michael Collett QC

Trinity 2018 election

  • Alexander Duma 
  • Her Honour Judge Beverley Lunt
  • Her Honour Judge Gillian Brasse
  • Mark Fenhalls QC
  • Emma Himsworth QC
  • Jason Pitter QC

Michaelmas 2018 election

  • Sallie Bennett Jenkins QC                               
  • Drusilla Sharpling CBE                                   
  • Nicholas Lobbenberg QC                                
  • David Forsdick QC                                          
  • Jonathan Kinnear QC                                      
  • Gaynor Wood                                                  
  • Kate Gallafent QC                                           
  • Stephen Innes                                                  
  • Georgina Gibbs                                                                                  

Royal Benchers

Elections for Royal and Honorary Benchers are held during Michaelmas term each year. You can find details of the election procedure in Order 13 of the Inn’s Standing Orders

Michaelmas 2018 election

  • Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Gloucester

Honorary Benchers

Michaelmas 2018 election

  • Professor Gillian Douglas 
  • Dame Katherine Grainger 
  • Gopal Subramanium
  • Dame Sarah Falk
  • Chief Justice Narinder Hargun

Fast Track election 2019

Elected under the Fast Track procedure on 15 January 2019. 

  • Chief Justice of Malaysia Richard Malanjum

Find out more

  • Past Benchers

    Search a listing of all past Benchers

    Past Benchers

  • Past Honorary Benchers

    Search a listing of all past Honorary Benchers dating back to the first Honorary Benchers elected in 1883.

    Find out more

  • News