GDL Scholarships

Gray’s will award at least £1.3 million in scholarships each year.

In 2022 Gray's Inn expects to award 25 to 35 GDL scholarships worth £2,500 to £12,000.

2022 Applications

The next application period for 2022 GDL Scholarships:

  • applications open 14 March 2022 and

  • applications close on 6 May 2022

If shortlisted, you will be interviewed 20, 21 or 22 June 2022 (exact interview dates are published on the online application form).

Find out more about how to apply.

GDL Scholarships

Our GDL Scholarships support students undertaking various law conversion courses, both full and part time.  

Our highest financial awards are the William Charnley Scholarship and the Dame Joyanne Bracewell Scholarship, valued at £12,000 and £10,000 respectively. 

We also award further named scholarships, including the prestigious David Karmel Scholarships.

Successful GDL scholars receive a basic financial award of £2,500. Scholars are then invited to apply for further means-tested funding.

All GDL scholars automatically qualify for a Bar Course Scholarship interview and, if successful at interview, their basic financial Bar Course Scholarship award starts at £7,500, an automatic £2,500 increase.

2022 Scholarships

William Charnley Scholarship 1 £12,000 
Dame Joyanne Bracewell Scholarship 1 £10,000
David Karmel Scholarships up to 8 £2,500 - £12,000
Named Scholarships up to 25 £2.500 - £12,000

Named Scholarships

In 2019, additional named scholarships were established, several of which were named after prominent female members of the Inn to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Sex Disqualification (Removal) Act 1919. 

Our named GDL scholarships are:

  • David Karmel Scholarships
  • William Charnley Scholarship 
  • Dame Joyanne Bracewell Scholarship 
  • Anthony Bessemer Clark Scholarship
  • Ann Ebsworth Scholarship
  • Nina Lowry Scholarship 
  • Graeme Hamilton Scholarship 
  • Sheila Mars-Jones Scholarship 
  • Leonard Caplan Scholarship 
  • Tatjana Finkelstein Scholarship 
  • Sir James Hunt Scholarship 
  • Ellice Aylmer Eadie Scholarship 
  • Josephine Barnes Scholarship 
  • Dame Juliet Wheldon Scholarship 
  • Sir Gilbert Gray Scholarship 
  • Frances Moran Scholarship 
  • Edmund James Lawson Scholarship 
  • Sir Elihu Lauterpacht Scholarship 
  • Enoch Dumbutshena Scholarship 

Find out more

  • How to apply

    Making your online application, assessment criteria and deadlines

    How to apply

  • Conditions for Applicants and Scholars

    Guidance on applying for and accepting a scholarship from the Inn


  • Joining the Inn

    Becoming a barrister is more than just a career – it’s the fulfilment of a calling