Skip to content

Pension agreed unanimously at their meeting on 18 October to the election of those named below as Honorary Benchers of The Honourable Society of Gray’s Inn:

• Professor Simon Armitage CBE, FRSL – The Poet Laureate, Professor of Poetry at Leeds University and formerly Professor of Poetry at Oxford University
• Professor Julia Black PBA – President of the British Academy and Professor of law
• Lord Evans of Weardale KCB DL – Former Director General of the Security Service; currently Chair Committee on Standards in Public Life
• Hon. Justice Stephen Gageler AC – Senior High Court Judge of Australia, Chief Justice of Australia Designate
• Justice Katerina Stamatiou – President of the Supreme Court of Cyprus – Member of the Inn
• Justice Sharise Weiner SC – Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals in South Africa – Member of the Inn

The Treasurer moved, and it was ordered, in accordance with Standing Order 13:28, that Bishop Michael Doe, the former Inn’s Preacher, be elected as an Honorary Bencher of The Honourable Society of Gray’s Inn under the Fast Track procedure.

Find out more


Get in touch with the Inn

Find us

Getting here and our opening hours


Find out about the Inn's news and announcements

Let us know your feedback

"*" indicates required fields

WeeklyMonthlyYearlyThis is my first visit
YesNoJust browsing
Not at all likelyUnlikelyNeutralLikelyVery likely