Skip to content

Congratulations to the following newly elected Honorary Benchers! 

Pension agreed unanimously at The Michaelmas 2018 election on 18 October 2018 to the election of the below Royal and Honorary Benchers. 

Royal and Honorary Bencher appointments are elected from non-members of outstanding public eminence and distinction or who have rendered great service to the Inn.

Honorary Benchers 

  • Professor Gillian Douglas 
  • Dame Katherine Grainger 
  • Gopal Subramanium
  • Dame Sarah Falk 
    Standing Order 13.2 states that a solicitor who was appointed a Judge of the High Court shall ‘within three months of his/her appointment, be approached by the Treasurer as to his/her willingness to be considered for election as a Master by acclamation’ 
  • Chief Justice Narinder Hargun
    Pension approved in accordance with Standing Order 13:28, that Chief Justice Narinder Hargun, be elected under the Fast Track procedure

Royal Master of the Bench

  • Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Gloucester 
    In accordance with Standing Order 13:17. Her husband, His Royal Highness The Duke of Gloucester is one of the Inn’s Royal Benchers.


Elections for Royal and Honorary Benchers are held during Michaelmas term each year. See Masters of the Bench for the full list of current Benchers. 

Find out more


Get in touch with the Inn

Find us

Getting here and our opening hours


Find out about the Inn's news and announcements

Let us know your feedback

"*" indicates required fields

WeeklyMonthlyYearlyThis is my first visit
YesNoJust browsing
Not at all likelyUnlikelyNeutralLikelyVery likely