Masters of the Bench

Elections for Masters of the Bench (also known as ‘Benchers’) are held during Trinity term each year. You can find details regarding the election procedure in part 1, section 4 of the Inn’s rules. Recent elections are also published in News.

Recent Elections


  • The Honourable Mrs Justice Sarah Morgan
    Approved by Pension on Wednesday 19 January 2022. Under Standing Order 13.1 a Member of Hall appointed a High Court Judge shall ‘as soon as maybe after his/her appointment be proposed by the Treasurer in Pension for election as a Master and elected by acclamation’.


The results of the Bencher Elections for which voting ended on Monday, 29 November 2021 is as follows with the following voted onto the Bench:

Employed Bar

  • Catherine Gibaud QC
  • Richard Hill
  • Sandra Villani

Self-Employed Bar

  • Caroline Carberry QC
  • Ben Douglas-Jones QC
  • Gwynfor Evans
  • Riaz Hussain QC
  • Professor Satvinder Juss
  • Sam Karim QC
  • Stephen Moses QC
  • Mary Prior QC
  • Caroline Rees QC

Royal Benchers

Elections for Royal and Honorary Benchers are held during Michaelmas term each year. You can find details of the election procedure in Order 13 of the Inn’s Standing Orders.

Honorary Benchers 2021

  • Dame Catherine Elizabeth Bingham DBE
  • Baroness Brady CBE
  • Justice Amy Coney Barrett
  • Justice Janak De Silva
  • Justice Sarah Derrington
  • Chief Justice Narin Ferdi Sefik

Elected by acclamation 2021

  • Miss Michelle Heeley QC

Find out more

Past Benchers

Search a listing of all past Benchers

Past Honorary Benchers

Search a listing of all past Honorary Benchers dating back to the first Honorary Benchers elected in 1883.


Find out about the Inn's news and announcements